The Other Mrs Walker

The Other Mrs Walker

A gloriously vivid puzzle of lost identities and stolen hearts, conveyed with the verve and panache of a true storyteller – Liz Jensen

Times bestseller and Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year 2017

‘Compelling’ Mail on Sunday  ‘Intriguing’ Guardian  ‘Absorbing’ Independent  ‘Superb’ Herald

When an old lady is discovered dead in a freezing Edinburgh flat, Margaret Penny from the Office for Lost People is tasked with tracking down her next-of-kin.

Margaret is instructed to uncover paperwork – births, marriages and deaths. But the truth about her client, Mrs Walker, lies in the objects she has left behind.

Objects that travel from contemporary Edinburgh to London in the ’30s, ’40s and ’50s, revealing a story of sisters and their betrayals, of thievery and misplaced mothers, and the destruction of a family by a single childhood act.

Read an extract Buy a copy Read the reviews


Reviews for The Other Mrs Walker

Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year

November 14, 2017
The Other Mrs Walker has been named Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year 2017.